Marriage License Information
Once you have your wedding date set, I suggest you get your marriage license.
Here are a few details that may help you:
- Find a marriage license division near you. Take note of location, days and hours of operation.
- Both applicants must be present when the license is issued.
- A government issued photo identification with signature and date of birth is required.
- For Florida residents, there is a 3 day waiting period before a ceremony may be performed In the state of Florida.
- Your wedding license is valid for 60 days from effective date.
- If you have been married before or are widowed, make sure you know divorce date, annulment or day your spouse passed away. You will be asked for this.
- The family law handbook should be read prior to obtaining your marriage license. It is available online at www.flclerks.com or at the Clerk of Courts Marriage and One-Stop-Divisions.
- Upon arrival to the Marriage License Division, take a number and fill out the form on the counter to present to the clerk when you are called.
- You will be given the license that same day. Place in a safe spot and bring it to your ceremony so that it can be signed by your officiant.
- Good luck!